Thursday, 10 December 2009

Europe’s offshore wind grid

imageNine countries – UK, Germany, France, Belgium, the Netherlands, Luxembourg, Denmark, Sweden and Ireland – on Monday signed an agreement to develop an integrated offshore wind grid in the North and Irish Seas.

The idea is to make supplies of electricity more secure for the participating countries by making it easier to optimise offshore wind electricity production.  It will also help the EU as a whole to meet its renewable energy target for 2020.

Another reason for smart grids.

© The Green IT Review

No comments:

Post a Comment